Skip to Content Skip to Navigation
12th May 2022 Latest News

Creative Juices Flowing Around SA for Art Prize

CCH Art Prize

Our thanks to the South Australian arts community for their overwhelming response to this new $51,000 Art Prize.

Artists were invited to respond to the theme of Healing, as it relates to human physical, mental health and wellbeing. Over 400 entries were received and 40 works across a range of mediums were chosen for the Finalist Exhibition.

Finalists were chosen by the Preselection Panel:
• Penny Griggs, Chief Executive Officer of Adelaide Central School of Art
• Sarah McDonald, South Australian Artist and art teacher
• Logan Macdonald, Public Art Planner, City of Adelaide.
Nici Cumpston OAM consulted on the Indigenous works.

Penny Griggs said: “The CCH Art Prize really resonated with South Australian artists. Selecting finalists from such a large group of exceptional work was not without its challenges. We are incredibly grateful to all entrants who submitted a high calibre of works across many mediums.”

Non-acquisitive prizes were offered in four categories:

• Main Prize: $40,000
• Emerging Artist Prize: $5,000
• Veteran and Emergency First Responder Prize: $5,000
• People’s Choice Prize $1,000

The finalists’ work was exhibited at Light Square Gallery from 27 September to 22 October 2021 with the winners announced at an opening event at the Gallery attended by Premier Steven Marshall.

The winners of the Main, Emerging and Veteran and Emergency First Responder categories were selected by judges

• Diana Laidlaw AM, Artist and Former South Australia Minister for the Arts
• Margo Hill-Smith, Director, Hill-Smith Art Advisory
• Nicholas Linke, Partner, Dentons Fisher Jeffries

We are proud to announce the Centre for Creative Health Art Prize will be returning in 2023. To keep up to date with the latest news and announcements visit our website, sign up for our e-news and follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

CCH would like to acknowledge the support from our proud South Australian sponsors:

Gold sponsors:





Silver Sponsor:





Veteran and Emergency First Responder Prize Sponsor: Dr Helen McLean

People’s Choice Sponsor: